What would you do?

Am C
3 min readOct 29, 2022

--

Would you still do your job if you had all the money you will ever need to lead a happy and comfortable life? If you had all the material possessions you need, would you still get up early and go to work?
If the answer is no, then you have to think about what you are doing with your life and why you are doing it.
It’s clear that you are not doing something which you love.
I know not everyone has the option to do something which they love and make a living out of it.
But I feel everyone can try, at least for one time.
Everyone can try and take calculated risks and see how it turns out.

My answer to the above question is yes. Yes, I will still do coding. I started doing it way before getting a job as a software engineer. I love it. I was fascinated with computers and how to make them work. How to get it to make stuff that we want it to do. I am grateful that I got the opportunity to work with stuff that I love to do.

I also loved photography and taking videos. But I was not sure about pursuing it. I don’t know why.
Maybe I loved playing with computers more than that.

And this is more technical and the other one is on the artistic side of things.
And there’s a stigma and resistance from Indian parents when you are going in an artistic way rather than being an engineer or a doctor.

There are people who choose the other path also. Recently my friend got admission to the National Institute of Design for doing a master’s in photography. She have been trying for years and finally, she made it.

So I guess if you really love it and are passionate about it, you will find a way to make it work. Rather than getting stuck with what you did because of your parents, relatives, society, or whoever told you, what you should be doing.

Similarly, I guess everyone will have similar interests in what they love to do.

Not everyone has to be an engineer or a white-collar office worker. There are enormous opportunities and many many different paths which you can take. You just have to search for it and find it.

What’s to be kept in mind is that you always have to be careful about your finances. Because we live in a world where everything is available only if you have money. Money or money-making skills. So whatever you do, you always need to have a way to make money.
Otherwise, it will not just work in the long run.

What will you do if you had a couple of million dollars?
What is the first thing that came to your mind?
Is that the thing which you really want to do?
Please let me know in the comments.

--

--

Am C

hola. This is mostly just self talk. ig: @_amc.__